Why I left my glamorous job

Twenty years from now, you will be more disappointed by the things you did not do than by the ones you did do.  So throw off the bowlines.  Sail away from the safe harbor.  Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.

Mark Twain   

Call it the 7-year itch because in a month’s time, I will be saying goodbye to my 7-year old career as corporate training officer for a public corporation.  I may have what most people would consider an enviable job given the perks that goes with it– generous paycheck, quarterly bonuses, car plan, housing plan, a dedicated parking slot, clothing allowance, top-of-line healthcare plan, and bonuses of up to 1xth month pay.  It was no surprise then that when I told some people about my jumping ship, they considered me a fool.  Who in his right mind would want to give up a life in Utopia?

What are you willing to give up to go up?

I was never your Average Joe.  I hate being average or normal or pedestrian for that matter.  I am always stubborn and arrogant.  I am restless. I am ambitious.  I know that I am destined to be great, and that I can never personify or achieve such greatness while trapped in my own Utopia, comfortably sitting on my executive chair in an air-conditioned office facing my flat screen monitor inside my well-appointed cubicle.  These are my faults and I am proud to have these virtues running in my veins.  To go up, to achieve greatness, I must give up the things that although provides for my own instant gratification, would in the long run become the very hindrance to my own self actualization.

sail

Life is a cycle.  If I will not leave now, I will miss the next one.

And if I do not leave now, I am afraid that I would not have the capacity to find any reason or courage in the future to leave.  I will rot and I will die.  If I am no longer learning any thing  new, or does not push myself to the wall with exciting, challenging, never-done-before endeavors, then I am not growing anymore.  Life is too short, I shall not waste it.

I am giving up stability over uncertainty.  I am giving up security over my own freedom.  Freedom to chart my own destiny, freedom to allow myself the full benefits of the mysteries that surround life in general.  Freedom to learn and to unlearn.  Freedom to become what I wanted to be.  Security on the other hand, and quite paradoxically is constricting, suffocating and stymying.  It secures your body but imprisons your spirit.  It kills your ability to dream big dreams.  It annihilates the greatness in us.

APTOPIX Germany Athletics Worlds

I am a big fish in a small pond, not anymore.  I’m taking one step backward only to gain a momentum for the big jump into the big pond.

9 comments on “Why I left my glamorous job

  1. normita says:

    it is giving up something for better man di ba? what is next?

  2. Hotkeno says:

    You’ll be great!🙂

  3. Psyche says:

    Tadan!

    And that is what we call knowing what you want and risking it all. You have my support Not though not a hundred per cent (you know why🙂 )

  4. Gerald Garcia says:

    I think you’re lying saying your comfortably sitting in your executive chair in an air conditioned room. I know for a fact that your not comfortable because you still ask for additional electricfan! Kidding aside, just hoping you’re tracking the right course. Gud luck!

    • notty279 says:

      Thanks! Minus 1 difficult customer ka na…hehe. ang init nga naman kasi sa small pond natin! sunod ka na, take the leap of your lifetime!

  5. Bronx says:

    Just make sure you’re doing it because it brings you closer to your end goal or next step in evolution, rather than because someone painted you a picture rosy only on first impression, or mainly because of what you do not like in your current job. Take it from me, either way will eventually disappoint you.

Leave a Reply

