A Social Experiment

In the runup to entering Stage 1 of the Life Entreprenuership Program of the Create Abundance Business Community, I was given a task so extraordinary that the responses I got from my friends were predicably, also extraordinary.

social experiment

Such was the essence of the social experiment:  to get unexpected result from an unexpected action.

The result was varied yet affirming.  Many of those I texted replied with positive responses.  A number of them said yes unconditionally, without even probing for details.  Yet, there were those who are just plain curious but unwilling to help.  They started calling me asking for the big questions– What happened?  Why do you need it?  How come you only need such a small amount?  Can’t you afford it?  As I explain to them, they would withdraw from the conversation.  Ah, I can smell the cynics from several cellsites away.  Of course, there were those who were apologetic for not having extra money to lend me.  Some felt sorry for me that I have resorted to a somewhat desperate act while a few kept their fingers away from their cellphones and chose to just ignore my message.     

That was quite understandble given the many financial fiascos we have had encountered in recent past, from the mega meltdown of the US financial sector to our very own Legacy mess.  Money matters are serious matters.  As an old adage goes, lend money only to people you don’t care about; else you might lose both money and friend.   I hope that was not the case for those friends of mine who lent me their money.

That was the action, and it was very uncharacteristic of me to send a message to all of my friends asking them to lend me three thousand pesos so I can start a business.

The goal of the social experiment was twofold:  for me to come to terms with my money concepts and for others to be tested on their own money concepts.  The subliminal objective was to test how many people trusts me.  The big goal is to really get hold of the money that was promised me.

It took me enough courage and a dose of adventurous spirit to send those messages.  At first though, I was apprehensive:  what will they say about me? Is this ethical?  Would these people change their perception of me?  I later realized that these are the same questions that boxed me in to where I am  right now.  I need to take a risk, like a true entreprenuer should.  I need to get out of the box. 

The box no longer exists.

5 comments on “A Social Experiment

  1. Great post!!
    Thanks for sharing.

  2. Hotkeno says:

    Great post! You’re a risk taker indeed

    Did it pay off? At least sa akin, oo. Naks!

  3. phoebe says:

    bakit ako ndi mo tnxt!!! favoritism ka, not!

Leave a Reply

