Sidetrip: Mang Jimmy’s, UP Diliman and Cubao Expo

Another perk of being away from work is a chance to visit places that are unreacheable on regular working days.  Because I was in Marikina last week, I had a chance to drive by Quezon City,  a second home (I have many) that is closest to my heart.

UP Sunken Garden

First on the list is my dear UP Campus in Diliman.  My purpose in going there is to claim my transcript of records before it reaches the shredding machine.  Some six months ago, Ghian was then preparing his school credentials for law school  and I asked him if he’d be kind enough to apply a transcript on my behalf, which he gladly did.  Unlike other private universities where one can just request for school records from the comforts of his or her own personal computer, UP unfortunately has not yet embraced the same e-commerce technology.

New Reg Office

I was surprised to find the new Admissions Building/ Office of the University Registrar.  Where before it was only squatting on a nearly dilapidated facility, the new Registrar’s Office is brand new, it still smells of cement powder!  I like its high ceiling, giving enough natural ventillation to an expectedly crowded and most-frequented office, especially on yes, Admissions Day.  It also has a wide paved parking area that not much of UP buildings are known for.  I must now believe that parking space is beginning  to be a problem for the UP administration.  I have mixed feelings on this.  One, I’m glad that the UP admin has recognized this and has included parking space in its faci;ity planning.  On the other side, I feel sad that the state university has become the choice school of the rich and parsimonious (low tuition= more shopping= more vacations abroad).  Access to UP Diliman  education has increasingly become limited if not impossible to most promdis and anakpawis.

More about UP on my next post.  I’ve been planning to write my thoughts about UP- then and now, in deference to a request made by my friend Matibay and in time with the opening of classes on June 9.

I also dropped by at Mang Jimmy’s for a hearty meaty meal of sizzling tapa and tilapia.    Needing for a company, I deliberately awaken Onat’s deep slumber and off we went to the students’ favorite hangout near campus although admittedly, I was never a Mang Jimmy’s habitue back then.  Gladly, the quick meal turned out to be a pleasurable interruption to my friend’s otherwise routinary day.

Mang Jimmy's

Last destination was the Cubao Expo at the Araneta Center, which is fast becoming a favorite chilling place of mine especially because of its ragged yet colorful Bohemian character.  Luis has mounted an art exhibit at the White Box Studio together with his other artist friends, simply titled, “If I Were a Monster” but profoundly executed, as always.

Cubao Expo

Mogwai Cubao Expo

 

 

 

 

Monsters on the Wall

 

 

 

 

Hanging Monstrosity

 

 

 

 

 

That was a busy week for me.  I can never be left idle when I am in QC, there are just so many interesting things you can do there.  And there are so much more colorful people around that place.

5 comments on “Sidetrip: Mang Jimmy’s, UP Diliman and Cubao Expo

  1. grich says:

    great blog notty!🙂 i suddenly miss UP.

  2. Dan says:

    I’ve been frequenting Cubao lately and once passed by to this place (Expo). I’ll try chillin’ out here sometime pag may makasama at free.:-)

  3. […] Photo credit: https://letters2mindanao.wordpress.com/2009/06/02/sidetrip-mang-jimmys-up-diliman-and-cubao-expo/ […]

Leave a Reply

